(Laîné  Alexandre)


フランス生まれのレネ・アレクサンドル(Laîné  Alexandre) さんは、鎌ケ谷市在住の学究で、東京大学『大気海洋研究所』に通い、気候学の研究をしています。マイ・ホームタウンは、フランス北西部のベルギーに近い、ゴンドクールというとても小さな町です。日本人の奥さんと9月で1歳半になるお嬢さんがいて、細身で物静かな学級肌の家庭的な方です。

 French-born Laîné  Alexandre lives in Kamagaya City and is studying climatology at the Atmosphere and Ocean Research Institute at the University of Tokyo.  His hometown is Gondecourt, a small town close to Belgium in northwestern France.  A quiet man of slender build, he lives with his Japanese wife and their daughter who turns one in September.






 Near the provincial border of Belgium, my hometown Gondecourt is about 30 km from the big city of Lille with a population of about 3,300.  Without a hill in sight, it is a very small and unassuming town as you can walk from one end to another in about 40 minutes.  Temperatures are about 0 ~ 5 in the winter and 25 in the summer, making them mild and bearable.

 In the 1900s, coal mining was at its prime in the north.  However, by the time I was born, the town had already become a place that focused on dry-field farming.  In terms of industry, there is a factory that makes plastic parts, a couple meat shops, and bakeries.

 Our family moved from Champagne to Gondecourt for my father, who worked as a high school chemistry teacher.  I was born there, and lived with my parents until I graduated from high school at 17.  Presently, my parents have moved back and are living in Champagne.





 According to the French education system, 3-7 year olds are placed in kindergarten, 7-11 year olds in elementary, 11-14 year olds in junior high, and 14-17 year olds in high school.  Although Gondecourt is a small town, many students come from towns in neighboring areas.

 In France, it is easy to get accepted into university.  However, the school I chose to attend is competitive and considered a think-tank specializing in science and engineering.  Graduating was difficult so I studied very hard.

 There are people who fail to get accepted and people who already hold a degree before entering school.  This might be a unique characteristic of the French education system.




 When I was a junior high school student, I played tennis and ping-pong.  Our team placed 4th and 5th in state tournaments.  After that, I started Aikido and obtained 1st rank (ikkyu).  Aikido sparked my interest in Japanese martial arts and I visited Japan for the first time in 2006.

 After graduation, I worked in Canada but I started to think about working in Japan.  Three years later in 2009, I found that the Japan Society for the Promotion of Science (JSPS) were recruiting researchers at the University of Tokyo.  I applied and was accepted.

 Even after my term expired, I was sent directly to work on projects at the National Institute of Polar Research by Todai.


現在は趣味になった水墨画を月に2回習っていますが、皆さんにお見せできるような作品は出来ていません。 妻の紗矢香とは、飯田橋の会館で催されたイベント会場で一目ぼれして話しかけました。フランス語が全く分からなかった、紗矢香が「英語が話せる?」と返したのがきっかけで知り合いになりました。今も二人の会話は英語中心の生活になってます。

 I am currently interested in ink painting and practice it twice a month, but I havent produced work that can be shown to people. I fell in love at first sight with my wife, Sayaka, at an event held at the Iidabashi assembly hall and approached her.  She could not understand a word of French, but her response, Can you speak English? served as the catalyst for the start of our relationship.  Even now, our daily conversations are in English.

 About once a year, I return to my new hometown in the Champagne region, which I think is similar to Sayakas hometown in Hokkaido. Along with her parents, she has an older brother and older sister, each separated by one year.  It is a warm household and everyone gets along well.


 In the famous region of Champagne, we have a wine cellar just about detached from our house.  We age about 300 bottles of wine and about 100 of them are mine.  I drink whenever I go back, but I open a bottle of wine every week even in Japan.  I also love Japanese sake.